Skip to main content

Table 2 Cluster rotation design of PISA 2012

From: Predictors of individual performance changes related to item positions in PISA assessments

Booklet Cluster position
1 2 3 4
1/21 PM5 PS3 PM6A/PM6B PS2
2/22 PS3 PR3 PM7A/PM7B PR2
3/23 PR3 PM6A/PM6B PS1 PM3
4/24 PM6A/PM6B PM7A/PM7B PR1 PM4
5/25 PM7A/PM7B PS1 PM1 PM5
6/26 PM1 PM2 PR2 PM6A/PM6B
7/27 PM2 PS2 PM3 PM7A/PM7B
8 PS2 PR2 PM4 PS1
9 PR2 PM3 PM5 PR1
10 PM3 PM4 PS3 PM1
11 PM4 PM5 PR3 PM2
12 PS1 PR1 PM2 PS3
13 PR1 PM1 PS2 PR3
  1. Note PISA 2012 consisted of seven mathematics clusters (PM1–7; major domain), three science clusters (PS1–3), and three reading clusters (PR1–3). The minor domains are represented in italics. Booklets 1–13 were standard booklets. Booklets 21–27 were easier ones in which two standard mathematics clusters PM6A and PM7A were replaced by two easier ones PM6B and PM7B, respectively, and the other item clusters remained the same as in the standard booklets. The easier booklets were offered as an option to lower performing countries